China Open

In the early 1980s only players from Australia and Canada could compet with the British players. But just a couple of years snooker players from Eastern countries were also able to compete with the British. Five people played in Main Tour as won in the amateur World Championship. And in 1985 at the initiative of Barry Hearn players from such countries as Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Japan and, certainly, China have taken part in the Premier league. Ranking tournaments in Asia have been started since 1989, however, the constant change of their names has caused constant confusion.

China Open became one of such tournaments. This young tournament is held in China since 1999. But during the period from 2001 to 2005 competitions weren't held. However, Thailand became the first Asian region in which various tournaments were constantly held.

Non-ranking tournaments held in China, one of these was the China International. This tournament is known that this only event out of Great Britain at which the maximum break has been made. James Wattana was the author of the maximum break. It was his third maximum in his career. Since 1997 China International becomes the rating and held for four years, along with another similar tournament Asian Thailand Masters.

In 1999 China International changes the name for China Open. Ronnie O'Sullivan was the first player who won China Open. He won Mark Williams in the final.

In a season of 2002-2003 the tournament wasn't held because of a negative financial situation in the East. But it lasted long not. Thanks to promoting of this sport in Asia, the snuker has received new breath, and many really good players have come from the East. Every season popularity of this sport only grows in this region.

In a season of 2004-2005 in Beijing China Open has renewed. It was the first tournament in Asia after a break in three years. The young Chinese player Ding Junhui perfectly made a speech at this tournament. 18-year-old player first beat Peter Ebdon, Ken Doherty and then in the final beat of the famous Scottish snooker player Stephen Hendry. The decisive match ended with the score 9-5. But because of his wild card Junhui not received money, rating points for the win. He got only rating title.

The tournament was held in the next seasons: Mark Williams won the fifth title on Asian tournaments in 2006. In the final in final frame John Higgins was beat. But the next year Graeme Dott beaten Jamie Cope 9-5 and won the main prize.

A year later, the trophy went back to the player from Scotland. Stephen Maguire became its owner. He beat Shaun Murphy in final frame. In 2009, the title went to England again, this time to Peter Ebdon. In the final he beat John Higgins 10-8.

Year Winner Runner-up Final score Season
China International (non-ranking)
1997 Steve Davis Jimmy White 7:4 1997/98
China International (ranking)
1999 John Higgins Billy Snaddon 9:3 1998/99
China Open (ranking)
1999 Ronnie O'Sullivan Stephen Lee 9:2 1999/00
2000 Ronnie O'Sullivan Mark Williams 9:3 2000/01
2002 Mark Williams Anthony Hamilton 9:8 2001/02
2005 Ding Junhui Stephen Hendry 9:5 2004/05
2006 Mark Williams John Higgins 9:8 2005/06
2007 Graeme Dott Jamie Cope 9:5 2006/07
2008 Stephen Maguire Shaun Murphy 10:9 2007/08
2009 Peter Ebdon John Higgins 10:8 2008/09
2010 Mark Williams Ding Junhui 10:6 2009/10
2011 Judd Trump Mark Selby 10:8 2010/11
2012 england Peter Ebdon scotland Stephen Maguire 10:9 2011/12
2013 australia Neil Robertson england Mark Selby 10:6 2012/13
2014 china Ding Junhui australia Neil Robertson 10:5 2013/14
2015 england Mark Selby england Gary Wilson 10:2 2014/15

China Open is the final event before the world championship and takes place in March in Beijing. But time of qualification of China Open usually is December.

SEASON 24/25
New files